The Pleasure Dome

The film series The Pleasure Dome. American Experimental Film in 1939-1979 took place at Moderna Museet in spring 1980. In connection with this event, 28 films were acquired for the collection. The Pleasure Dome marked the beginning of film as a separate collection activity in its own right. The film series was compiled by the cinematic artists Claes Söderquist and Jonas Mekas. The latter was also a key figure in American experimental film, as an artist, writer and founder of several organisations that showed and promoted experimental film; this influenced the selection, which focuses on the American east coast. The collection includes works by Stan Brakhage, Robert Breer, Joseph Cornell, Hollis Frampton and Michael Snow.


Showing 6 of 28 search results for
The Pleasure Dome
Bruce Conner
1933 - 2008
United States Valse Triste, 1978
16 mm, färg (sepia), optiskt ljud
05:30 min.
Moving Images
Purchase 1980
MOMFi 28 This artwork is not on display
- Exhibition history
- Exhibition catalogues
Showing 6 of 28 search results for
The Pleasure Dome
Exit slideshow